Activision Unveils Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock - The Ultimate Rock & Roll Music Videogaming Experience

5th June 2010 - Activision have announced a new Guitar Hero game, Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock. The official press release which includes the track list is as below:


This fall, living room legends and their friends will join together and embark on an epic rock journey to save rock n' roll with Activision Publishing, Inc.'s (Nasdaq: ATVI) Guitar Hero(R): Warriors of Rock. The latest installment in the world's most popular music game series, Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock, will once again redefine music gaming with an all-new, story-driven Quest Mode, a completely redesigned rock-inspired guitar controller, the biggest on-disc selection of rock music ever in aGuitar Hero(R) game and Quickplay+, which invites challenge-starved fanatics to test their rock skills in any of the on-disc or over 500 songs in the Guitar Hero Music Library.


Running on the powerful Guitar Hero engine that has been expanded and refined, coupled with the return of the critically-acclaimed and fan favorite features like Party Play's jump in/jump out gameplay, a host of Competitive modes and the ability to play any combination of guitar, bass, drums and vocals, Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock offers the complete interactive and connected experience bringing friends and foes to the stage in the ultimate rock music adventure.


"Guitar Hero has set the standard for music based gaming and with Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock's all-new Quest Mode, robust and authentic set list, over-the-top challenges and rock-inspired new hardware, we are once again bringing the soul and energy of rock n' roll to fans around the world," said David Haddad, Chief Operating Officer, Guitar Hero.


In Quest Mode, using any combination of instruments, players will embark on a larger-than-life, epic rock journey from the stage of CBGBs, the infamous punk-rock club in New York City, to the molten lava fields of rock treachery as eight Guitar Hero characters transform into rock warriors that must join together to use their unique, game-changing powers to help the Demi-God of Rock take down "The Beast" and save rock n' roll.


"The world is a boring place. Come with me, and enter a world populated of Demi-Gods and Beasts. Transform from an everyday person and become the savior of rock and roll," said Gene Simmons of KISS. "It was an honor and privilege to narrate Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock, even more so, to voice the Demi God. From the God of Thunder to the Demi-God, how cool is that..."


Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock breathes new life into gamers' current Guitar Hero music libraries providing literally hundreds of hours of replayability with the introduction of Quickplay+, which features 13 totally unique gameplay challenges for every on-disc track as well as most downloadable and importable songs from Guitar Hero(R) World Tour forward. Gamers will complete challenges such as Band Streak, High Score and Power Challenge, which allows players to choose any two warrior powers they have unlocked to try and earn ridiculously high scores, to rank up and unlock more rewards and content than ever before. All-new Challenge Leaderboards have been created in order to capture the outrageous scores that are capable with Quickplay+.


Delivering the largest on-disc rock music set list to-date, Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock features more than 90 tracks that include guitar shredding hits from bands such as Black Sabbath, Megadeth and Slipknot and larger than life anthems from Queen, Muse and KISS. Additionally, Dave Mustaine of Megadeth wrote and recorded "Sudden Death," an original track for the game, which was inspired by Quest Mode's storyline. Along with original songs, the set list also includes special re-records by famous artists and tracks from bands that are making their music video game debut. The first songs off of Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock's set list to be revealed are:


- AFI - "Dancing Through Sunday"

- Avenged Sevenfold - "Bat Country"

- Black Sabbath - "Children Of The Grave"

- Buzzcocks - "What Do I Get?"

- Children Of Bodom - "If You Want Peace... Prepare For War"

- The Cure - "Fascination Street"

- Def Leppard - "Pour Some Sugar On Me (Live)"

- Dethklok - "Bloodlines"

- DragonForce - "Fury of the Storm"

- Drowning Pool - "Bodies"

- Foo Fighters - "No Way Back"

- Foreigner - "Feels Like The First Time"

- Jane's Addiction - "Been Caught Stealing"

- KISS - "Love Gun"

- Megadeth - "Sudden Death"

- Metallica & Ozzy Osbourne - "Paranoid (Live)"

- Muse - "Uprising"

- My Chemical Romance - "I'm Not Okay (I Promise)"

- Queen - "Bohemian Rhapsody"

- Rammstein - "Waidmanns Heil"

- The Rolling Stones - "Stray Cat Blues"

- Silversun Pickups - "There's No Secrets This Year"

- Slayer - "Chemical Warfare"

- ZZ Top - "Sharp Dressed Man (Live)"


To maximize players' shredability, Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock delivers the next evolution in finger-fretting with an all-new, show-stopping guitar controller that was inspired and born from the game's unique art style and specifically made for shredding.



Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock is being developed by Neversoft Entertainment for the Xbox 360(R) video game and entertainment system from Microsoft and the PlayStation(R)3 computer entertainment system and by Vicarious Visions for the Wii(TM) system from Nintendo. The game is rated "T" (Teen - Lyrics, Mild Fantasy Violence and Mild Suggestive Themes) for the Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3. The Wii version is not yet rated by the ESRB. For more information about Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock, please visit